KNOWLEDGE

The knowledge we have and use today in many cases had its origin in the Orient. Partly, the Arab World was once the source, partly the transmitter of progress which had its origin in other cultures. The Arab language was once used by scientists to preserve the knowledge of ancient Greece, as an example. The spread of Islam brought this knowledge to Andalusia and hence to Europe.
These are only some examples of knowledge transfer:

ASTRONOMy

Man has watched the orbit in all cultures and during all times. In ancient Egypt records started in the third millennium B. C. The knowledge of the movements of stars which was written down on clay tablets in Babylonia was surprisingly exact. Translations in Andalusia during the times of Arab domination made the knowledge of ancient Greece accessible in Europe. The names of several stars in the sky had their origin in Arab terms.

COTTON

The advance of the cotton probably started from India. In the second millennium B. C. the plant came to Mesopotamia and Egypt. In the 8th century Arab traders introduced cotton cultivation in Spain and Sicily.

CHEMISTRY

The scientist Jabir ibn al-Hayyan who lived around 800 near the Euphrate river is considered by many experts as „father of chemistry“. He, or his “school”, is considered as author of numerous books which pushed experimental chemistry. They also inspired Alchemists in medieval times.

Spices

Arab vendors had developed eminent nautic knowledge and domesticated camels to transport goods on the caravan routes. Thanks to these skills they brought many new spices from East Asia to the Mediterranean. Most of these spices came via Venice across the Alps. The Arab region thus played a key role in an early global supply chain. Some spices were first sold in Europe in pharmacies as medicine. The effect of this trade was a sustainable change in food habits in Europe until current days.

Coffee

Botanists say that the plant originally came from Ethiopia. However, in the 6th century it was brought across the Red Sea to the Arab Peninsular. There, in the humid mountain areas of Western Yemen, coffee was for the first time cultivated systematically. The town Mokha became the first port from which coffee was exported. Since the end of the 17th century coffee houses became prominent places to exchange information and ideas in Europe. The coffee plants were finally brought to the colonies of the European powers where they changed agriculture fundamentally.

 

 LITERATURE

The Orient inspired European literature. Since the 18th century there was a boost of translations from Arab texts. Especially the poets in the era of romanticism “discovered” the Orient. The stories of „1001 nights“ which originally came from India pushed enthusiasm for the Arab world. The message from those stories promised a happy-end which readers were hoping for in their own world.

MATHEMATICS

Arab scholars brought the knowledge of ancient Greeks like Pythagoras, Thales, Euklid and Platon to Europe. The word algebra comes from the Arab term “al-jabr”. The scientist Musa Al-Khwarizmi, born in Central Asia, published its “Book of Addition and Substracion according to the Hindu calculation” in Baghdad around the year 830 which gave mathematicians a comprehensible tool. Graphical explanations of mathematical problems were the basis to develop geometry.

MEDIcinE

The medical profession was for the first time mentioned in the Code of Hammurapi in the 18th century B. C. The ancient Egyptians and Greek like Aesculap or Hippocrate added new experiences. While in the Middle Ages in Europe diseases were treated according to the ideas of the church, in the Orient advanced therapies were used. In Cordoba, the Arab physician Abu al-Qasim al-Zahrawi combined Arab and Greek teachings and introduced surgical instruments. His collection of medical knowledge together with other Arab works was the basis for the European medicine until the Renaissance.

MUSIC

The original shape of many music instruments came from the Near East – like harps, lyres and drums, which were described for the first time in the 3rd millennium B. C. in Mesopotamia. Lutes, basins, trumpets and double-reed instruments like flutes were used in the 2nd millennium B. C. in Egypt. Research shows that some instruments were brought to Europe by returning crusaders. Many originally shapes can still be seen in the Arab region.

 

OPTICS

Scientists in ancient Greece thought that light is spotted by rays sent out by the eye. In contrast, Ibn Al-Haytham (Alhazen) found the principle of lenses. He died about 1040 in Cairo and due to his inventions todays he is considered as „father of optics“.

 

PAPER

Paper production probably was invented in ancient China. Arabs adopted this technology: About 795 paper production started in Baghdad and during the time of Maure domination it spread to Andalusia and hence Europe. The first paper mill north of the Alps was opened 1390 by Ulman Stromer at the “Hadermuehle” in Nuremberg. The cheap paper replaced the parchment made from animals’ skins. Together with the invention of the letterpress by Gutenberg the distribution of knowledge reached more and more citizens. The Reformation, as an example, would have never succeeded without printed texts on paper.

RELIGION

The three most important religions of the world – Judaism, Christianity and Islam – came from the Near East. 32 percent of the 6,9 billion humans are Christians, 23 percent Muslims and 0,2 percent are Jewish (as estimated in 2010). All three believe that there is only one God. The founders and prophets of all three religions intended to create a “better”, fair world.

LANGUAGE

Arab scientists and scholars used their language to collect knowledge also of other cultures. Baghdad and Andalusia were the centres of this process during medieval times. It is also possible to trace back many words in modern European languages to Arab terms. In English words like coffee, sugar, mattress and even alcohol are examples which indicate Arab origins.

WIND MILLS

Analysing the text of the Code of king Hammurapi, wind mills were used for the first time around 1750 B. C. in Babylonia to get energy. Geographers using the Arab language reported in the 9th century about wind mills in current Iran. Arabs then brought the technology to Andalusia.

NUMERICS

The substitution of the Latin letters by decimal numeration used in the Orient was like a revolution in counting. Originally these numerics came from India, but they spread in the Arab world and Andalusia rapidly. The “Book of Addition and Substracion according to the Hindu calculation” of Musa al-Khwarizmi, translated in the 12th century by Adelard of Bath from Arabic into Latin, paved the way for this process. It also introduced the “zero” among these numerics. For Christian clerics in the beginning it was a challenge to include this “zero” into their view of the world: For many of them it had a profane character.

WISSEN

Vieles von dem, was wir heute wissen oder nutzen, kam aus dem Orient. Bei diesen Einflüssen war die arabische Welt teilweise der Ursprung, teilweise ein Übermittler von Kenntnissen aus anderen Kulturkreisen. Die arabische Sprache war einst im Nahen Osten die Gelehrtensprache, in der auch das Wissen der europäischen Antike festgehalten wurde. Mit der Ausbreitung des Islam gelangte dieses Wissen bis nach Andalusien und damit nach Europa. Wir stellen hier zusammengefasst einige Beispiele dieses Wissenstransfers vor.

Astronomie

Mit Himmelsphänomenen haben sich die Menschen in allen Kulturkreisen und zu allen Zeiten befasst. Im alten Ägypten reichen schriftliche Aufzeichnungen bis ins 3. Jahrtausend vor Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung zurück. Das auf Tontafeln der Babylonier festgehaltene Wissen über Himmelszyklen war erstaunlich genau. Übersetzer im von Arabern beherrschten Andalusien machten Wissen der Griechen in Europa zugänglich. Viele Sternnamen sind von arabischen Bezeichnungen abgeleitet.

Baumwolle

Der Siegeszug der Baumwollpflanze begann wohl in Indien. Sie gelangte im zweiten Jahrtausend vor Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung nach Mesopotamien und Ägypten, wie Grabfunde beweisen. Im 8.Jahrhundert führten arabische Händler den Baumwollanbau in Spanien und auf Sizilien ein.

Chemie

Der um 800 in Kufa am Euphrat lebende Jabir ibn al-Hayyān gilt für viele als „Vater der Chemie“. Ihm beziehungsweise seiner Schule werden unzählige Bücher zugeschrieben, in denen wichtige Grundlagen für die heutige Experimentalchemie geschaffen wurden. Auf ihnen bauten die Alchemisten des europäischen Mittelalters auf.

Gewürze

Arabische Zwischenhändler brachten dank ihrer entwickelten nautischen Kenntnisse und der Domestizierung des Kamels als Lasttiere auf den Karawanenstraßen eine Vielzahl neuer Gewürze von Ostasien zum Mittelmeerraum. Diese gelangten dann meist von Venedig über die Alpen. Bei dieser Frühform einer globalen Lieferkette spielte der arabische Raum eine Schlüsselrolle als Umschlagplatz. Manche Gewürze wurden anfangs als Heilmittel in Apotheken verkauft, sie veränderten aber schließlich die Speisegewohnheiten in Europa bis zur Gegenwart nachhaltig.

Kaffee

Botaniker ordnen die Heimat der Kaffeepflanze Äthiopien zu. Die Pflanze gelangte aber möglicherweise bereits im 6. Jh. über das Rote Meer auf die Arabische Halbinsel. In den feuchten westlichen Gebirgslagen des heutigen Jemen wurde der Kaffee dann erstmals systematisch kultiviert. Die Küstenstadt Mokha wurde zum ersten Exporthafen. Ab Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts  wurden Kaffeehäuser in Europa zu Orten des Informationsaustauschs. Kaffeepflanzen gelangten schließlich in viele Kolonialgebiete und veränderten dort die Landwirtschaft.

 

 Literatur

Der Orient hinterließ viele Spuren in der deutschen Literatur. Seit dem 18. Jahrhundert gab es einen Schub an Übersetzungen arabischer Texte. Insbesondere die Vertreter der Romantik entdeckten das Morgenland. Die Verbreitung der Erzählungen aus „1001 Nacht“, die ihren Ursprung eigentlich im indischen Kulturraum hatten, beflügelte eine regelrechte Orientbegeisterung. Das Erfolgsrezept war die Botschaft vom Happy-End, nach dem sich das lesende Publikum sehnte.

Mathematik

Auf dem Umweg über die Araber hielt auch das Wissen der griechischen Theoretiker wie Pythagoras, Thales, Euklid und Platon Einzug in Europa. Das Wort Algebra lehnt sich an den arabischen Begriff „al-jabr“ an. Das von dem in Zentralasien geborenen Gelehrten Musa Al-Khwarizmi um das Jahr 830 in Bagdad auf Arabisch veröffentlichte Buch „Über die Rechenverfahren durch Ergänzen und Ausgleichen“ schuf ein nachvollziehbares mathematisches Werkzeug. Die bildhaften Darstellungen mathematischer Probleme führten zur Entwicklung der Geometrie.

Medizin

Der Arztberuf wurde erstmals im Gesetzeskodex des Hammurapi im 18. Jh. vor Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung in Mesopotamien erwähnt. Die alten Ägypter und Griechen wie Aesculap oder Hippokrates brachten neue Erkenntnisse. Während des europäischen Mittelalters wurden Krankheiten nach Vorstellungen des Klerus behandelt, im Orient kamen dagegen weit fortschrittlichere Therapien zum Einsatz. Der arabische Arzt Abu al-Qasim al-Zahrawi in Cordoba kombinierte die arabischen und griechischen Lehren und führte chirurgische Instrumente ein. Seine Sammlung medizinischen Wissens und andere arabische Werke prägten die europäische Medizin bis zur Renaissance.

Musik                                                                                                                                 

Urformen vieler Musikinstrumente stammen aus dem Vorderen Orient. Dazu zählen Harfe, Leier und Trommel, die im 3. Jahrtausend vor Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung in Mesopotamien auftauchten. Laute, Becken, Trompete und Doppelrohrblattpfeife wurden im 2. Jahrtausend vor Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung in Ägypten genutzt. Forscher glauben, dass einige Instrumente von Kreuzfahrern bei der Rückkehr in die Heimat mitgebracht wurden. Viele der Urformen werden heute noch im arabischen Raum benutzt.

Optik

Während die Wissenschaftler des griechischen Altertums glaubten, dass Licht durch Sehstrahlen aus dem Auge wahrgenommen wird, erkannte Ibn Al-Haytham (Alhazen) das Prinzip der Linsen. Er starb um 1040 in Kairo und wird heute wegen seiner Erfindungen zum Strahlengang des Lichts als „Vater der Optik“ bezeichnet.

Papier

Als Erfinder der Papierherstellung gelten die Chinesen. Die Araber übernahmen die Technik: Um 795 begann in Bagdad die Papierherstellung, und auf dem Umweg der maurischen Herrschaft gelangte sie nach Andalusien und damit erstmals nach Europa. Die erste Papiermühle nördlich der Alpen richtete dann Ulman Stromer 1390 in der Hadermühle (Hadern = Lumpen) in Nürnberg ein. Das billige Papier löste das Pergament aus Tierhäuten ab und gab – zusammen mit Gutenbergs Erfindung des Buchdrucks – der Verbreitung von Wissen einen enormen Schub. Auch die Reformation hätte sich ohne die Verbreitung von auf Papier gedruckten Texten kaum durchsetzen können.

Religion

Drei der großen Weltreligionen haben ihren Ursprung im Nahen Osten: Judentum, Christentum und Islam. Von 6,9 Milliarden Weltbewohnern sind nach dem Stand von 2010 rund 32 Prozent Christen, 23 Prozent Muslime und 0,2 Prozent Juden. Allen drei Religionen ist die Verehrung nur eines Gottes gemeinsam. Den Gründern und Propheten aller drei Religionen ging es zugleich um eine „bessere“, gerechtere Gesellschaft.

Sprache

Arabisch war die Sprache der Gelehrten, in der im Mittelalter Wissen auch aus anderen Kulturkreisen gesammelt wurde. Bagdad und das arabische Andalusien waren einst Zentren dafür. Spuren des Arabischen findet man heute noch in der deutschen Sprache – als sogenannte Arabismen. Der Bogen reicht von Kaffee über Zucker und Tasse über Sofa und Matratze bis zu Ziffer und sogar Alkohol. Solche Bezeichnungen deuten auf den Ursprung der Dinge hin.

Windmühlen

Nach Hinweisen im Gesetzbuch des Königs Hammurapi ist anzunehmen, dass es die ersten Windmühlen zur Energiegewinnung um 1750 v. Chr. in Babylon gab. Arabischsprachige Geographen berichteten im 9. Jahrhundert aus dem heutigen Iran von Windmühlen. Die Araber brachten die Kenntnisse schließlich nach Andalusien.

Ziffern

Fast revolutionär war der Ersatz lateinischer Buchstaben durch das Dezimalsystem aus dem Orient. Ursprünglich waren es indische Ziffern, die sich zuerst im arabischen Osten und dann in Nordafrika und in Andalusien und von dort rasant weiter verbreiteten. Eine wichtige Rolle spielte dabei der genannte Mathematiker Musa al-Khwarizmi in Bagdad um 825 mit seiner arabischen Schrift „Über das Rechnen mit indischen Ziffern.“ Unter den neuen Ziffern befand sich erstmals die Null. Theologen hatten es anfangs schwer, dieses „Nichts“ in ihr Weltbild einzuordnen: Für viele war es eine verrufene Zahl.